Section Banner

Hydrology Faculty and Participating Departments

The Hydrologic Science and Engineering (HSE) Program at the Colorado School of Mines is an interdisciplinary graduate program designed to provide students with a solid background in quantitative environmental (physical and chemical) hydrology and allow them to explore specialties within related fields, particularly with emphasis on areas of expertise of the participating faculty. Links to faculty web pages and email addresses are provided below.

Feel free to contact us about the HSE program and our research programs!

Participating Departments/Divisions:

On-Campus Research Centers:

FACULTY

David Benson
HSE Director
GGE
Subsurface contaminant transport and fate, numerical modeling dbenson@mines.edu
Hussein Amery
LAIS
Water management and politics in the Middle East; conflict resolution of transboundary water issues; water ethics hamery@mines.edu
Jeffrey Andrews-Hanna
GPGN
Planetary hydrology; early hydrology and climate evolution of Mars;  
methane hydrology of Titan; numerical modeling and remote sensing
jcahanna@gmail.com
Tzahi Cath
CEE
Brackish water and seawater desalination; water and wastewater treatment engineering; potable water reuse; energy recovery in water treatment tcath@mines.edu
Ron Cohen
CEE
Limnology; wetlands treatment of mine wastes; treatment systems for produced waters from petroleum operations; environmental site characterization and risk assessment rcohen@mines.edu
Marte Gutierrez
CEE
Geomechanics; Coupled multiphase fluid flow, thermal and geomechanical processes in porous and fractured media; Experimental studies and computational modeling.
mgutierr@mines.edu
Dave Hale
GPGN
Seismology, computer graphics, image processing, subsurface modeling and fluid flow dhale@mines.edu
Christopher Higgins
CEE
Fate, transport, and bioaccumulation of emerging contaminants in aquatic and terrestrial systems. chiggins@mines.edu
Terri Hogue
CEE
Surface hydrology, catchment response to wildfire, urbanization, climate variability, land-atmosphere interactions, watershed modeling, parameter estimation, remote sensing, field studies. thogue@mines.edu
John Humphrey
GGE
Carbonate sedimentology, diagenesis and geochemistry; stable isotope geochemistry; reservoir characterization, paleoclimatology jhumphre@mines.edu
Tissa Illangasekare
CEE
Subsurface flow, transport and fate of chemicals in porous media, groundwater hydrology, numerical modeling, fracture flow, flow in snow, NAPLs tissa@mines.edu
Yaoguo Li
GPGN
Geophysical inverse theory; gravity, magnetic, and electrical methods in resource exploration ygli@mines.edu
Ning Lu
CEE
Groundwater hydrology, unsaturated soil mechanics, expansive soils, environmental geotechnics ninglu@mines.edu
John McCray
CEE
Contaminant hydrology, subsurface remediation, vadose-zone hydrology, subsurface vapor-transport, watershed hydrology, mathematical modeling, soil-based wastewater treatment jmccray@mines.edu
Junko Munakata Marr
CEE
Biological degradation of organic compounds; microbial communities in groundwater and water treatment systems; application of molecular biology techniques to environmental systems jmmarr@mines.edu
Reed Maxwell
GGE
watershed hydrology, groundwater-surface-water-land surface interactions, land-atmosphere interactions, microbial subsurface contaminant transport, spectral scaling in watersheds, integrated watershed response to climate change, environmental risk assessment, development of numerical models, Lagrangian methods and high-performance computing rmaxwell@mines.edu
Alexis Navarre-Sitchler
GGE
Water-rock interactions, geochemical kinetics, hydrogeochemistry, integration of field and experimental data into reactive-transport numerical simulation. asitchle@mines.edu
Jim Ranville
CHGN
Geochemical influences on metal transport and bioavailability; environmental colloids and suspended particles; natural organic matter; field-flow fractionation methods; ICP-AES/MS methods; chemistry of acid-mine drainage jranvill@mines.edu
Andre Revil
GPGN
Hydrogeophysics, redox potential, diffusion of ions in clay barriers, electroosmosis, poroelastic deformation, multiphase flow, electrical double layer, coupled processes, inverse modeling arevil@mines.edu
Paul Santi
GGE
Landslide drainage, groundwater issues in construction, hydrology and mass movement hazards, cross-contamination of aquifers, subsurface site investigation psanti@mines.edu
Josh Sharp
CEE
Environmental microbiology and biogeochemistry, Biotechnological applications towards groundwater remediation and water reuse, Bacterial cytochrome-mediated degradation of emerging organic contaminants with a focus on micropollutants such as nitrosamines, Bioattenuation of metals and radionuclides jsharp@mines.edu
Kamini Singha
GGE/CEE
Coupled field work and modeling studies of groundwater flow, solute transport, and groundwater-surface water interaction; environmental geophysics, geostatistics ksingha@mines.edu
Kate Smits
CEE
Multiphase processes affected by heat and mass flux dynamics, land/atmospheric interfaces at a wide range of physical scales ksmits@mines.edu
John Spear
CEE
Environmental microbiology; metal bioremediation; environmental policy and impact analysis jspear@mines.edu
Nils Tilton
ME
Theoretical and computational fluid mechanics, flow through porous media, and membrane filtration ntilton@mines.edu
Tina Voelker
CHGN
Fate and effects of toxic metals and organic contaminants in aquatic environments, oxidation of organic contaminants in natural and engineered systems, photochemistry of natural organic matter, reactions of oxygen species in aquatic environments, interactions between metals and natural organic matter voelker@mines.edu
Yu-Shu Wu
PE
Reservoir engineering and groundwater hydrogeology in general , Quantitative analysis and mathematical modeling approaches to flow and transport processes in porous and fractured reservoirs, Phenomena and coupled processes of multi-phase fluids, multi-component chemicals, and heat in variably saturated subsurface systems, Transient pressure and tracer tests in characterizing aquifers and oil/gas reservoirs YWu@mines.edu
Wendy Zhou
GGE
Hydrologic applications of GIS, Energy-water nexus wzhou@mines.edu

Emeritus FACULTY

Bruce Honeyman
CEE
Surface chemistry; environmental radiochemistry; metal-organic interactions; the physical/chemical processes controlling the fate of chemical species in natural and engineered systems  
Don Macalady
CHGN
Chemistry of natural organic matter; abiotic oxidation/reduction reactions; hydrolysis reaction rates and mechanisms; environmental partitioning from aqueous to soil/sediment and other systems; particle effects in aqueous chemistry; geochemical processes in systems contaminated with acid mine drainage; chemistry in wetlands dmacalad@mines.edu
Gary Olhoeft
GPGN
Petrophysics; ground penetrating radar; nonlinear complex resistivity golhoeft@mines.edu
Eileen Poeter
GGE
Ground water flow and transport modeling, inverse modeling, characterization of subsurface heterogeneity, uncertainty evaluation, data fusion, geostatistical simulation epoeter@mines.edu
Robert Siegrist
CEE
Environmental characterization and risk assessment; subsurface treatment of contaminated land, water, and waste water treatment, and reuse in natural and alternative systems rsiegris@mines.edu