Faculty

The Hydrologic Science and Engineering (HSE) Program at Colorado School of Mines is an interdisciplinary graduate program designed to provide students with a solid background in quantitative environmental (physical and chemical) hydrology and allow them to explore specialties within related fields, particularly with emphasis on areas of expertise of the participating faculty.

Leadership

Jonathan (Josh) Sharp

HSE Program Director
Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Dave Benson

HSE  Program Associate Director

Faculty

Hussein A. Amery

Division Director and Associate Professor, Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences
Water management and politics in the Middle East; conflict resolution of transboundary water issues; water ethics
hamery@mines.edu

Eric Anderson

Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering Hydrodynamic Modeling; Coastal Processes; Limnology; Physical Oceanography; Ice Dynamics; Atmosphere-Surface Water Interaction.
ejanderson@mines.edu

Bia Villas Bôas

Assistant Professor, Geophysics
Physical oceanography, remote sensing, air-sea interactions, ocean surface waves, coupled modeling of winds, currents, and waves, scientific computing education.
villasboas@mines.edu

David Benson

Professor, Geology and Geological Engineering
Subsurface contaminant transport and fate, numerical modeling
dbenson@mines.edu

John Bradford

Professor and Department Head, Geophysics
Ground-penetrating radar, reflection seismology, wavefield modeling, reflection imaging, waveform attribute analysis, material property estimation.
jbradford@mines.edu

Tzahi Cath

Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Brackish water and seawater desalination; water and wastewater treatment engineering; potable water reuse; energy recovery in water treatment
tcath@mines.edu

Brandon Dugan

Associate Professor, Baker Hughes Chair in Petrophysics and Borehole Geophysics
Hydrogeology; marine hydrogeology; geomechanics; groundwater resources; basin-scale fluid flow; numerical modeling
dugan@mines.edu

Marte Gutierrez

James R. Paden Chair and Distinguished Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Geomechanics; coupled multiphase fluid flow, thermal and geomechanical processes in porous and fractured media; experimental studies and computational modeling
mgutierr@mines.edu

Christopher Higgins

Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Fate, transport, and bioaccumulation of emerging contaminants in aquatic and terrestrial systems
chiggins@mines.edu

Terri Hogue

Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Surface hydrology, catchment response to wildfire, urbanization, climate variability, land-atmosphere interactions, watershed modeling, parameter estimation, remote sensing, field studies
thogue@mines.edu

Tissa Illangasekare

AMX Distinguished Chair and Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Subsurface flow, transport and fate of chemicals in porous media, groundwater hydrology, numerical modeling, fracture flow, flow in snow, NAPLs
tillanga@mines.edu

Serveh Kamrava

Assistant Professor, Petroleum Engineering
Machine learning, fluid dynamics, chemical discovery, energy storage systems, complex materials, soft matter
kamrava@mines.edu

Rennie Kaunda

Assistant Professor, Mining Engineering
Mine water hydrology, groundwater hydrogeology, characterization of contaminant transport and fate, water in geotechnical and geomechanical engineering
rkaunda@mines.edu

Kristoph Kinzli

Teaching Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
River mechanics; stream rehabilitation; water resources; agricultural water use; fisheries biology; engineering teaching pedagogy; and active learning.
kkinzli@mines.edu

Adrianne C. Kroepsch

Assistant Professor, Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences
Water policy and politics in the American West, groundwater management, energy-water nexus, collaborative governance processes, interdisciplinary approaches to water research (e.g., socio-hydrology)
akroepsch@mines.edu

Amy Landis

Professor, Mines Presidential Fellow for Diversity, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Quantitative sustainability of renewable fuels; biobased products and plastics and healthcare. Developing new sustainability tools in Life Cycle Assessment, industrial ecology, & systems analysis.
amylandis@mines.edu

Ning Lu

Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Groundwater hydrology, unsaturated soil mechanics, expansive soils, environmental geotechnics
ninglu@mines.edu

Adrienne Marshall

Assistant Professor, Geology and Geological Engineering, Snow Hydrology; Ecohydrology in discontinuous permafrost regions; Hydropower in the energy system; Climate change; Computational approaches including: spacial data, data science, physically-based hydrologic models, statistical models, high performance computing.
adriennemarshall@mines.edu

John McCray

Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Contaminant hydrology, subsurface remediation, vadose-zone hydrology, subsurface vapor-transport, watershed hydrology, mathematical modeling, soil-based wastewater treatment
jmccray@mines.edu

Junko Munakata Marr

Professor and Department Head, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Biological degradation of organic compounds; microbial communities in groundwater and water treatment systems; application of molecular biology techniques to environmental systems
junko@mines.edu

Eileen Martin

Assistant Professor Jointly Appointed: Geophysics and Applied Math& Statistics
Near-surface, engineering, environmental and urban geophysics; analysis of large sensor networks; fiber-optic sensing, including distributed acoustic sensing; signal processing, imaging, and inverse problems; data-intensive high performance computing; passive seismic methods
eileenrmartin@mines.edu

Alexis Navarre-Sitchler

Assistant Professor, Geology and Geological Engineering
Water-rock interactions, geochemical kinetics, hydrogeochemistry, integration of field and experimental data into reactive-transport numerical simulation
asitchle@mines.edu

James Ranville

Professor, Chemistry
Geochemical influences on metal transport and bioavailability; environmental colloids and suspended particles; natural organic matter; field-flow fractionation methods; ICP-AES/MS methods; chemistry of acid-mine drainage
jranvill@mines.edu

Danica Roth

Assistant Professor, Geomorphology and Environmental Seismology
droth@mines.edu

Paul Santi

Professor, Geology and Geological Engineering
Landslide drainage, groundwater issues in construction, hydrology and mass movement hazards, cross-contamination of aquifers, subsurface site investigation
psanti@mines.edu

Jonathan (Josh) Sharp

Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Environmental microbiology and biogeochemistry, Biotechnological applications towards groundwater remediation and water reuse, Bacterial cytochrome-mediated degradation of emerging organic contaminants with a focus on micropollutants such as nitrosamines, Bioattenuation of metals and radionuclides
jsharp@mines.edu

MATTHEW SIEGFRIED

Assistant Professor, Geophysics
Subglacial hydrology, Ice-ocean interaction, Grounding zone dynamics, Geophysical surveying of ice streams, Air- and space-borne laser altimetry
siegfried@mines.edu

Kamini Singha

Professor, Geology and Geological Engineering
Groundwater flow and solute transport in porous media and fractured rock, groundwater-surface water interaction, environmental geophysics, geostatistics
ksingha@mines.edu

Steven M. Smith

Assistant Professor, Division of Economics and Business
Property rights and natural resources, water law and economics, irrigation development and management.
ssmith1@mines.edu

John Spear

Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Environmental microbiology; metal bioremediation; environmental policy and impact analysis
jspear@mines.edu

Pejman Tahmasebi

Associate Professor, Petroleum Engineering
Geomechanics, subsurface systems (energy, water, storage), computational modeling and multiple point statistics, machine learnings, fluid flow in porous media.
tahmasebi@mines.edu

Nils Tilton

Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Theoretical and computational fluid mechanics, flow through porous media, and membrane filtration
ntilton@mines.edu

Bettina Voelker

Professor, Chemistry
Fate and effects of toxic metals and organic contaminants in aquatic environments, oxidation of organic contaminants in natural and engineered systems, photochemistry of natural organic matter, reactions of oxygen species in aquatic environments, interactions between metals and natural organic matter
voelker@mines.edu

Ryan Venturelli

Assistant Professor, Geology and Geological Engineering
Subglacial hydrology, paleoglaciology, ice-ocean interaction, isotope geochemistry.
venturelli@mines.edu

Yu-Shu Wu

Professor, Petroleum Engineering
Reservoir engineering and groundwater hydrogeology in general, Quantitative analysis and mathematical modeling approaches to flow and transport processes in porous and fractured reservoirs, Phenomena and coupled processes of multi-phase fluids, multi-component chemicals, and heat in variably saturated subsurface systems, Transient pressure and tracer tests in characterizing aquifers and oil/gas reservoirs
ywu@mines.edu

Wendy Zhou

Associate Professor, Geology and Geological Engineering
Hydrologic applications of GIS, energy-water nexus
wzhou@mines.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Brian Ebel

Disturbance hydrology; hydrogeomorphology; unsaturated zone hydrology; post-wildfire hydrology; hillslope hydrology
bebel@usgs.gov

Don Rosenberry

Hydrology and hydrogeology of lakes, wetlands, and streams, groundwater-surface water exchange
rosenberry@mines.edu

Michelle Ann Walvoord

Permafrost hydrology, multiphase flow and transport, arid regions hydrology
walvoord@usgs.gov

Rich Wanty

Environmental geochemistry, and coupling of geologic, hydrologic, and geochemical processes
rwanty@mines.edu

Emeritus Faculty

  • Ronald Cohen: Limnology; wetlands treatment of mine wastes; treatment systems for produced waters from petroleum operations; environmental site characterization and risk assessment
    rcohen@mines.edu
  • Dave Hale: Seismology, computer graphics, image processing, subsurface modeling and fluid flow
    dhale@mines.edu
  • Bruce Honeyman: Surface chemistry; environmental radiochemistry; metal-organic interactions; the physical/chemical processes controlling the fate of chemical species in natural and engineered systems
    bhoneyma@mines.edu
  • Donald Macalady: Chemistry of natural organic matter; abiotic oxidation/reduction reactions; hydrolysis reaction rates and mechanisms; environmental partitioning from aqueous to soil/sediment and other systems; particle effects in aqueous chemistry; geochemical processes in systems contaminated with acid mine drainage; chemistry in wetlands
    dmacalad@mines.edu
  • Gary Olhoeft: Petrophysics; ground-penetrating radar; nonlinear complex resistivity
    golhoeft@mines.edu
  • Eileen Poeter: Groundwater flow and transport modeling, inverse modeling, characterization of subsurface heterogeneity, uncertainty evaluation, data fusion, geostatistical simulation
    epoeter@mines.edu
  • Robert Siegrist: Environmental characterization and risk assessment; subsurface treatment of contaminated land, water, and wastewater treatment, and reuse in natural and alternative systems
    rsiegris@mines.edu